Victory ~ A Poem ~ By Sherrie Robins

DSCF7643.jpg-3

Written on National Poetry Day, October 8, 2015

I thought I heard a thought, I did

A pleasant moment, amongst, amid

The daily busy tasks at hand,

That conquer minds and heads upstand.

But silence forced its way on top

Stepping on the list, chop-chop.

It stopped my mouth and opened ears

Causing fears to flip and flop,

Making me to choose this day

To win o’er what I hear and say,

And meditate, a golden slice

For a second; no, maybe twice.

Subservient I will not be

To tasks and lists, varieties

Of all that push and pull my day

Trying to suggest dismay.

But quietly I bowed my head

And won, this silent moment,

Done.

Leave a Reply

