Overwhelmed by Glory

DSC02110-1

* We’ve started a new blog called perspectivesinfaith! Thought you’d like to know. If you enjoy a good old heart-warming, up-lifting, soul-nurturing, read, please take a look. We’d appreciate your feedback. Thanks! Here’s a sample:

Overwhelmed by Glory

Have you ever seen such beauty that you were overwhelmed?

I love the word Gobsmacked! It’s ‘wicked-good’! The definition, according to Dictionary.com is: utterly astounded, astonished, flabbergasted. They go on to say that the word origin is: from gob ‘mouth’ + smacked ‘clapping hand overin surprise’.

I had that experience today, while driving down the Niagara escarpment, towards Lake Ontario. The vista on any ordinary day is spectacular. But, in the fall, on a clear day, it is especially beautiful with a full on view of the colorful foliage, the Niagara River and Lake beyond.

But today was a one-in-a-million kind of day. The sky was dancing, alight and aloft. On my right were dark clouds, ominous and foreboding, having a look of doom about them. To the left it was clear and vivid blue, checkered with colossal, billowy clouds.

An ‘ooh’ or an ‘ah’ will often escape me, while taking all this in. But today was that one-in-a-million. If my hands had been free, I would have been gob-smacking all over my face!

The sun was playing peek-a-boo with the clouds, streaks of light streamed down on any given destination. Birds of prey soared high above the earth, glints of sunshine bouncing off their wings. And as if all that weren’t enough, a rainbow appeared before me; a complete arch, weaving in and out of the doom and gloom clouds, to the right.

My gob-smacked mouth started rejoicing and shouting and tears escaped their borders. And then it hit me that we’d just flown right past beauty and over into glory! One of the definitions of beauty is something that pleases the aesthetic senses. But my favorite definition of glory, according to Merriam-Webster goes like this: worshipful praise, honor, and thanksgiving.

So that’s what I was doing! Natural, spontaneous, and full of hope for a future filled with those one-in-a-millions! Forever being overwhelmed by glory.

DSCF4442

https://perspectivesinfaith.wordpress.com/2015/10/17/overwhelmed-by-glory/

2 thoughts on “Overwhelmed by Glory”

  1. Hi there 2Chicks >> Its only me LOL >> I really love this post as it reminds me so vividly of what I feel when I’m out in the middle of nowhere. In the UK I have my own woods that I go to for whatever or no reason. Its stunning there and at the top of a rise is a grove about 200m away from the path. No one ever goes up there. It’s gorgeous. There’s a huge old tree that’s fallen revealing an amazing hollow inside. The fallen branches form a canopy when it rains. The deer and foxes also hang out up there. If you stay still they come and check you out; amazing. There’s a flip side to your post though guys >> I’m stuck in Beijing! Ho hum >> Thanks for a wonderful post and bringing on such strong memories of the woods.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Andy! It’s NEVER ‘only’ you. It’s always ‘Oh! It’s Andy’. 🙂
      Wow. Thanks so much for sharing that beautiful space, place and time with us. It’s so easily found when we come up over that rise…not so easy when it cannot be seen. BUT the flip side is when you find that Glory inside your heart…no matter where…now THAT’s something to plug into. The one that made that beauty isn’t limited to time and place. Thank goodness. Why He finds it inviting to dwell within, well that’s a wonder…
      So glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

